Faith

Don’t Miss the Knowing

Stillness is so attractive and yet so hard for me. The story of Mary and Martha in Luke 10 was always so appealing and challenging for me. Martha was busy – there were things to be done and if there were things to be done, well she was going to be doing them. And yet, in this story, we learn that Mary chose what was better. Rather than busy herself with the doing, she chose to be, to sit at Jesus’s feet and learn from Him.

Don’t we all get so caught up in the doing?  And so stillness has always been something I seek – in some seasons successfully and in others less so. Recently, I’ve been thinking about that stillness and feeling a new longing for something more – like I was missing something right in front of me. And then I saw it. I drove by a church I drive by often and I saw a familiar verse in a new way.

Be still and know that I am God:
I will be exalted among the heathen, I will be exalted in the earth.                          Psalm 46:10

 How often I have read that, sung that, and quoted that?  Yet now I see it with fresh eyes – “and.”  There is more than the stillness. It doesn’t end with the stillness but with the KNOWING. And so this Christmas season and this next year, I am going to try to spend more time with the “and.” Spend more time with the knowing that He is God and I am not. Knowing that He is good. Knowing that He cares. Knowing that He wants to spend time with me. Knowing Him.

Leave a Reply

